Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Beer Review – Breckenridge Oatmeal Stout

image

So here is what happened.  Today is Black Friday, and I didn’t go shopping.  I didn’t do much of anything really except have a second day of Turkey and family, which was actually very nice. But earlier in the week I read this post and it got my mouth wet for a good dark beer. I knew I had this Breckenridge in the fridge at home, so for all the fun and frivolity of Thanksgiving part II, this 12oz friend was stuck in the back of my head. So here we are, 9:30 at night, and I am relaxing, sipping, and reviewing this fine brew.

For starters, I love the label on this beer. That says nothing for the beer, but the wanna be designer in me can’t help but appreciate the incredible art some label designers come up with.

I took the bottle out about 15 minutes before I uncapped it just to take the edge off the chill, and I am glad I did because when I did finally pop the top it had a nice aroma to it. A blend of coffee and roasts. I didn’t smell much chocolate, we will see in the taste. As for appearance, there wasn’t much of a head, but the beer is as black as could be. If I was looking for a black beer for black Friday, I got what I was looking for.

And the sip. A little more of a burnt taste then I might have expected, and the initial carbonation tingled a bit, then very quickly fades away. The only thing that lingers is the toasty flavor on the sides of my mouth. A second big swill reveals an equally smooth and strong roasty toasty flavor, not much bitterness at all, and a smooth finish. Very dark but definitely not syrupy at all. Not much lacing on the glass, actually none at all. I definitely don’t have the most refined palette, but this beer is bold up front with it coffee and toasts, but not to interesting or complex on the backend.

Overall it is a fine beer. Best oatmeal stout ever, probably not, but certainly worth your time to try, and really is a nice way to wrap up a two day Thanksgiving bonanza.

Get the vitals from Breckenridge on their Oatmeal Stout

2 comments on “Beer Review – Breckenridge Oatmeal Stout

  1. Lyrics, Libations, and Life
    November 24, 2012

    Thanks for the shout out. I’m glad to see someone else joined me in Black beer friday. I was swayed by a few other beers, but I got my black beer in there. Post coming on monday.

    • Dom
      November 24, 2012

      Trust me, the pleasure was all mine!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 24, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
Marlton Matters

Discussing the town we live in... because it matters.

Cinemaworld - The Site for what is happening at the movies

This site is for movie fans. I love to talk about trends and interesting happenings in the film. If you like the blogs, please like, reply and share as I love to discuss films and cinema.

Filmykutta

Pure filmy hai!!

