Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Beer Review – Left Hand Brewing 400 Pound Monkey

Compliments of Left Hand Brewing

When I first picked up this beer the first think I noticed was the copious amount of yeast at swirling around the bottom of the bottle.  Even though some sources say it is perfectly fine to pour hard and enjoy the yeast as a part of your beer, I personally prefer to leave it behind.  It has done its job, I am thankful for its service, but now it is time for it to part ways from the beer it created.  One of the tricks to this however is to still pour well to agitate the beer so you get good head development while holding back enough to capture the yeast.  Much to my dismay, I messed this one up and did not get the head I would have liked on this beer.  Rookie mistake, could happen to anyone.  After a few swigs I was able to get a good swirl in my pint glass which helped fix things a bit and reinforce the nice fruit aroma I noticed when first opening the bottle.  There was definitely bananas on the nose, which the name suggested and the commercial description implied.

The color was a pale coppery orange with a light and soft carbonation.  As I already stated, my pouring error makes it tough to judge head size and retention, but it colored up a clean white.  What thin head was present did persist for a while.

Our craft brewed IPA’s in America have developed a reputation for more bitter more better.  Most people see IPA and think hops.  In this case, I was impressed with the balance and the way left hand tried to stay really true to the English IPA style.  The malts are toasty and the hops are earthy, and neither over power the palette.  This beer is a pleasure to drink because it is softly carbonated and well-balanced.

Overall a very drinkable and enjoyable brew.  Underwhelming as far as what most of us expect from an IPA these days, but I think it is in that understatement that this beer finds it proper place.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 26, 2013 by in Beers.
Cinemaworld - The Site for what is happening at the movies

This site is for movie fans. I love to talk about trends and interesting happenings in the film. If you like the blogs, please like, reply and share as I love to discuss films and cinema.

Filmykutta

Pure filmy hai!!

