Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Brew Views – Pumpkin 2014

This fall (or, really mid-summer) I started to pumpkin beer season the way I have for the last three years, by scooping up the first bottle of Southern Tier Imperial Pumking I saw.  And ya know what, it was good, but not great.  I think some things create such a strong memory, that the reality year after year just can’t match the expectation.  That, or they really just don’t make it like they used to.  Either way, Pumking is not the alone atop Mt. Gourd any longer, at least not in my book.  So naturally, and thankfully, that means a wide open field for best pumpkin of 2014.

There are two that I have tried so far that were both excellent, and both much better than expected.  First was the Sam Adams Double Fat Jack Pumpkin.  Freshly tapped at the local Irish pub, I enjoyed this pint from the moment it was placed in front of me.  It has the dark amber, sort of mahogany color you want from a fall seasonal, and the also the color you want from a 8.3% bomb of a brew.  It smelled like a pumpkin pie blew up under my nose, but unlike the Pimking, it delivered on the palate as well.  Some alcohol for sure, but not to boozy, this be a beer I could think about.  It was crisp and clean, but with lots of flavor.  I really enjoyed.

The second, which I might have liked even more, was from Heavy Seas called The Greater Pumpkin.  Delicious.  10% ABV, and you wouldn’t even know it.  Lots of great flavor, but also great texture.  It is rare for me that texture stands out so strongly as a characteristic, but where the Fat Jack was crisp and strong, this brew was velvety smooth, almost creamy.  I enjoyed every sip.

I am not finished with my Pumpkin 2014 quest, but I already have two front runner.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 15, 2014 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

Marlton Matters

Discussing the town we live in... because it matters.

Cinemaworld - The Site for what is happening at the movies

This site is for movie fans. I love to talk about trends and interesting happenings in the film. If you like the blogs, please like, reply and share as I love to discuss films and cinema.

Filmykutta

Pure filmy hai!!

